King James' School

Term Dates & Routines

Term dates and training days are as follows: 

Summer Term 2021

Start of term: Monday 12th April 2021
End of term for students: Friday 23rd July 2021

Half term: 31st May to 4th June 2021

Bank Holiday: Monday 3rd May 2021

Training Days: Friday 30th April 2021 and Monday 5th July 2021

Autumn Term 2021

Start of term Years 7 and 12 only: Tuesday 7th September 2021
Start of term Years 8-11 and 13: Wednesday 8th September 2021
End of term: Friday 17th December 2021

Half term: 25th to 29th October 2021

Training days: Monday 6th September 2021, Friday 8th October 2021, Wednesday 24th November 2021

 

Spring Term 2022

Start of term: Tuesday 4th January 2022
End of term: Friday 8th April 2022

Bank Holiday: Monday 3rd January 2022

Half term: 21st to 25th February 2022

Training days: Wednesday 16th March 2022

Summer Term 2022

Start of term: Monday 25th April 2022
End of term for students: Friday 22nd July 2022

Half term: 30th May to 3rd June 2022

Bank Holiday: Monday 2nd May 2022

 

The School Day

Revised timings from September 2020  

8.35am Students are expected to be on site
8.45am - 9am Registration/Assembly
9.05am - 10.05am Lesson 1
10.10am - 11.10am Lesson 2
11.10am - 11.25am Break
11.30am - 12.30pm Lesson 3
12.30pm - 1.05pm Lunch
1.10pm - 2.10pm Lesson 4
2.15pm - 3.15pm Lesson 5

 

Assemblies

There is an established pattern of school assemblies for each year group every week. They are entirely secular in nature and are used to celebrate achievement, promote the values that the school stands for, and encourage a sense of responsibility to others. Assemblies usually take the form of a talk supported by audio/visual technology, followed by an opportunity to reflect.

All students are expected to attend morning assemblies. Parents wishing to discuss this involvement should contact the school.