Headteacher’s Welcome

Welcome to the website for King James’s School, a happy and thriving comprehensive school at the heart of the market town of Knaresborough, North Yorkshire.

King James’s School is a highly successful comprehensive school. We are dedicated to helping children develop into confident, sensitive and responsible adults who are able to play an active part in society. With a Royal Charter and foundation dating from 1616 we have an enviable tradition, identity and ethos, which is combined with the best in modern curriculum design and innovative teaching and learning. Academically, we maintain the high standards that the parents of Knaresborough have come to expect from the school. We also have a rich profile of extra-curricular activities and we believe in giving parents the opportunity to enjoy the achievements of their children. Our talented and enthusiastic staff ensure that all of our youngsters fulfil their potential.

We hope that looking around this website will give you a flavour of our school. Parents are reminded that more specific information regarding individual students can be found through My Child At School and that teaching and learning materials are available through Its Learning, our Virtual Learning Environment.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you would like more information.

Mr CA Sugden
Headteacher

"To Set no Limits on What we can achieve"

King James’s News

Headteachers Updates

Stay updated with a message from our Headteacher

COVID -19

For all the lastest guidance and information about COVID-19

House Drama

Interested in taking part in this year's house drama? Find out more about auditions below.

Calendar & Key Events

Year 10 Pastoral Evening

Wednesday 29th June

Year 11 Leavers' Prom

Thursday 30th June

Year 13 Leavers' Prom

Friday 1st July

House Drama Event

Monday 4th & Tuesday 5th July

Year 6 Transition Days

Wednesday 6th & Thursday 7th July

'Art on a Summer Evening' Exhibition

Wednesday 6th July

Sports Day

Friday 8th July

Year 7 Pastoral Evening

Monday 11th July

Wellbeing Day
(students off-timetable)

Friday 15th July

Summer Term Ends

Friday 22nd July at 12.35pm

GCSE Results Day

Thursday 25th August

Autumn Term Starts
(Years 7 & 12 only)

Tuesday 6th September

Autumn Term Starts
(Years 8-11 & 13)

Wednesday 7th September